8 Ways to Prevent Stress

IMG_0520

Hey everyone! Most people go back to school/work tomorrow after a long break. This can cause a lot of stress for many people, including me. I’m going to be showing you 8 ideas for what you can do when you start to feel overwhelmed or stressed. Let’s get started!

  1. Take a Bath-I’m sure you’ve heard this before, but taking a warm bath the night before school or work or whatever you might be stressing about can be so relaxing. I like to use bath bombs from lush because the colors and scents soothe me and relieve me of my stress. Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 10.03.05 AM
  2. Don’t Drink Caffeine – If you are the type of person who drinks a late afternoon coffee or a soda with caffeine at dinner, try and cut that out of your evening the night before you go back to school. You’ll probably already have a hard time falling asleep-I know I do-but that unnecessary caffeine may keep you up even more.
  3. Make a Checklist– This is something I love to do the night before I’m going to school, on a vacation, or anywhere I know I need to remember things. I’m the type of person who tends to forget at least one thing wherever I’m going, but making a checklist can prevent this! Write down everything you know you need the night before, and don’t leave your house until everything is crossed off your list.IMG_9601.JPG
  4. Eat Breakfast– If you’re in a rush, breakfast is often something that is forgotten. However, this should not happen. I’m sure people have told you before that “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day”, but it’s actually true. When I know I’m going to be in a rush, I sometimes prepare something the night before like a hard boiled egg. If I don’t have something ready, I will grab a granola bar or fruit on my way out the door, or maybe a bowl of cereal if I have a little more time.
  5. Take a Breath– I often get super anxious the night before going back to school and something I’ve learned to do is just to stop, sit down, and breathe. People often think that when you breathe you are supposed to suck in your stomach, but this is not the case. My sister was seeing a doctor who told her you are supposed to push out your stomach as you inhale and release as you exhale. This slows down your heart rate and helps you calm down very quickly.
  6. Pick an Outfit the Night Before– If you don’t already do this, I strongly suggest you start. Picking out an outfit can be so stressful and time consuming, so doing to the night before can be one less thing you have to stress about in the morning and it gives you time to do other things.
  7. Get a Good Night Sleep– Over the years I have learned that I am the type of person who needs 8 hours of sleep. If you don’t get a decent amount of sleep, getting up in the morning and just going about your day can be more difficult than it has to be. Going to bed at a reasonable hour will allow you to be at your best the next day.
  8. Talk to Someone– You don’t even have to talk about how you’re feeling, but just picking up the phone and calling your friend or sitting on the couch talking to a family member is an easy way to take your mind off of whatever you are stressing about. This is something I do all the time and I promise it works.

Let me know if you tried one or any of these tips! I will for sure be using all of these tonight because I’m already stressed about school tomorrow! Talk to you next week. xoxo, grace

Leave a Reply

